Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Rachael Johns - The Other Bridget

Registration now closed

Rachael Johns - The Other Bridget

Author In-conversation

2024-02-20 17:30:00 2024-02-20 18:30:00 Australia/Melbourne Rachael Johns - The Other Bridget A feelgood romantic comedy by Australia's bestselling romance writer, ideal for fans of Emily Henry and Marian Keyes. Newcomb Library - Meeting Room

Tuesday, February 20
5:30pm - 6:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-02-20 17:30:00 2024-02-20 18:30:00 Australia/Melbourne Rachael Johns - The Other Bridget A feelgood romantic comedy by Australia's bestselling romance writer, ideal for fans of Emily Henry and Marian Keyes. Newcomb Library - Meeting Room

Newcomb Library

Meeting Room

A feelgood romantic comedy by Australia's bestselling romance writer, ideal for fans of Emily Henry and Marian Keyes.

Named after a famous fictional character, librarian Bridget Jones was raised on a remote cattle station, with only her mother’s romance novels for company. Now living alone in Fremantle, Bridget is a hopeless romantic. She also believes that anyone who doesn’t like reading just hasn’t met the right book yet, and that connecting books to their readers is her superpower. If only her love life was that easy.

Written by Australia’s most beloved romance writer, Rachael Johns, The Other Bridget is a delightfully uplifting book about books, and a gorgeous celebration of the power and pleasure of romance novels throughout the ages.

Once upon a time (briefly) Rachael was an English teacher, then her dreams of becoming a novelist came true. Now she spends her days writing romance and women’s fiction in the Swan Valley, Western Australia. Her book The Patterson Girls won the ABIA Award in 2016 for General Fiction and she has also won the prestigious Romance Writers of Australia RUBY Award twice.

Rachael will be in-conversation with award-winning author, Sue Lawson.  Sue writes books that challenge and delight. Her most recent books include the award-winning picture book, Falcons in the City and Respect, Sharing and Family, co-written with Boonwurrung Elder, Aunty Fay Muir.

Book sales and book signing will be available at the event.

If you need anything in order to participate in this event, please contact events@grlc.vic.gov.au at least two weeks prior to the event date.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Author Talks |

TAGS: | recommended |

Newcomb Library

Phone: (03) 4201 0657

Hours

Newcomb Library

Mon, Feb 26 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Tue, Feb 27 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Wed, Feb 28 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Thu, Feb 29 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Fri, Mar 01 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Mar 02 9:00AM to 1:00PM
Sun, Mar 03 Closed

Tel: (03) 4201 0657

About the Library

Newcomb Library is a popular community gathering space and is situated within a busy shopping precinct. The branch features a range of services and facilities including public access PCs, free WiFi, zones for reading, study and working, and a large meeting room available for community hire. Regular Baby, Toddler and Preschool Story Time sessions are held here, and events and lifelong learning programs for adults are run throughout the year. 

Upcoming events

Tue, Mar 05, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dance, sing and read along with your child at our action-packed Toddler Time program.

Thu, Mar 07, 10:30am - 11:15am
Help your child discover the magic of stories and develop a lifelong love of reading.

Fri, Mar 08, 11:30am - 11:50am
Join us for a fun-filled interactive session of songs and rhymes for babies and carers.

Tue, Mar 12, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dance, sing and read along with your child at our action-packed Toddler Time program.

Thu, Mar 14, 10:30am - 11:15am
Help your child discover the magic of stories and develop a lifelong love of reading.

Fri, Mar 15, 11:30am - 11:50am
Join us for a fun-filled interactive session of songs and rhymes for babies and carers.

Tue, Mar 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dance, sing and read along with your child at our action-packed Toddler Time program.

Thu, Mar 21, 10:30am - 11:15am
Help your child discover the magic of stories and develop a lifelong love of reading.

Fri, Mar 22, 11:30am - 11:50am
Join us for a fun-filled interactive session of songs and rhymes for babies and carers.

Tue, Mar 26, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dance, sing and read along with your child at our action-packed Toddler Time program.

Thu, Mar 28, 10:30am - 11:15am
Help your child discover the magic of stories and develop a lifelong love of reading.